Coursera: Metadata Class

I liked this class, I learned some new aspects of metadata that I didn’t know. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to learn more about metadata or wants to get their feet wet in the topic. I love learning new things and will use Coursera to find new topics to learn.

However, it’s my opinion that this class cannot replace an actual for credit Metadata class.  I think it’s great and I’m sure you will learn from it, but I’m not sure if it will work as a “resume booster”.  I think Library Juice would be better alternative if that’s your goal. Yes, you have to pay for Library Juice but I do think those are more structured.

Still the Coursera class was fun and interesting. I enjoyed learning about metadata and taking the quizzes. What I liked most about this class is that I didn’t ever need to watch a video lecture. What I did was download the audio version of the lecture to my computer, then I brought it into iTunes as a podcast, and listened to them like that. I like listening to spoken word faster than normal so this was a great work around for me.  If you would like to know more about how I did this, look here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Classes, Websites

Leave a Reply

