What I’ve been up to the last few months

First off, great, big, hearty congratulations to Henrik de Gyor at Another Dam Podcast for successfully funding his Kickstarter campaign. I look forward to seeing the transcribed podcasts when they are done.

Second, I finished my online class on digital preservation. I took it through the Palmer School and it was taught by Gregory Hunter. One of the projects was that the class created a wiki of various resources on digital preservation. It’s a shame we couldn’t preserve it.* In addition to the class discussion and weekly readings, each of us had to write three papers. One of these papers had to be about a current issue or topic on digital preservation. We also had to write a paper comparing two digital repositories. And the final paper was on how each of us will implement our own digital preservation strategy for our own digital assets. It was very good and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested. That said, it did take up most of my spare time the last few months; but it was well worth it and I’m happy I took it. It’ll definitely help now that I plan on taking the DAS workshops.

In addition to the online class, I’ve continued taking the Caring for Yesterday’s Treasures – Today course series webinars. They really didn’t take up that much time, just a few hours here or there. The recordings for these webinars are still up on their website. I look forward to their new webinar courses coming in the fall. I plan on registering for those when they open and I recommend that others do the same.

Lastly, I’m attending NYAC (an archive conference on Long Island) next week. I’m attending my first SAA DAS workshop there. I’m very exited to start on the DAS path. I will be taking my second DAS workshop June 10th. So hopefully I’ll have quite a bit to write about in the following weeks.

 

Edit: I spoke with my professor during NYAC, I misunderstood the “loss” of the wiki.  It’s saved and preserved on their servers, but the students of the class no longer have access to it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Archives, Classes, DAM, webinars, Websites

Leave a Reply

