Collections Care Basics: Where Do I Begin? Webinar course

I recently completed the Collection Care Basics course  from Connecting to Collections Online Community. This course is apart of the new Caring for Yesterday’s Treasures – Today course series. This is a joint project of  Heritage Preservation the American Assoication for State and Local History, and IMLS.

I highly recommend checking out the power point slides for this course and consider registering for the other courses. There is no cost for these webinars and you can do them at your own pace. While, I chose to watch most of them live,  when I wasn’t able to do that because of an interview conflicted with the time slot I was able to view a recording of the webinar. There were homework assignments, that I thought was helpful. They were two kinds, one focused on a collection or object at your institution and how it relates to the class content and quizzes.  I felt that both types of these assignments helped me retain what was discussed in the webinar. Also the quizzes made me feel a bit more confident as well.  The recommended readings were a nice touch. I look though some of them and there was alot I learned from them.

I’ll be honest I registered for this course to be like a refresher of my Intro to archives class from college, but I learned alot more than I thought. What was icing on the cake however, was that this course counts towards ACA re-certification credits.  That I thought was pretty sweet.

This might be my last post for a while, I’m taking a digital preservation class online this semester and I might not be able to post to this blog as often.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Classes, webinars, Websites

Leave a Reply

