Volunteering for Createasphere

So I haven’t written here for quite some time, but there is a good reason why: I volunteered for Createsphere in September. At first I wasn’t sure if I should blog about this opportunity, but the person I assisted assured me blogging was fine.

I hit the pavement looking for an opportunity to volunteer there months ago. I’m a part of the DAM Foundation group on LinkedIn and I’ve made a few posts there; inquiring if there were any volunteer opportunities available.  Mary Yurkovic contacted me though LinkedIn and she offered me this opportunity to attend Createasphere in exchange for assisting her during the conference. It was a wonderful chance and I jumped at it. Before the conference, I was a go-between for Mary Yurkovic and the New York Archivist Round Table. So, I was able to get the Round Table to be added as a media Partner on the Createasphere website.

On Wednesday, I talked with Mary and was invited to attend on one of the workshops. I was able to sit in on both the “Selecting DAM Technologies” and the “DAM I Know What It Is, But Where Do I Start?” seminars. Theresa Regli from the Real Story Group presented at the DAM Technologies panel and I was really happy to meet her. I read about her while learning about DAMs. I was also able to run a very important errand for the Createsphere staff.

On Wednesday night, there was a DAM Meetup a few blocks away. It was very exciting to meet so many DAM professionals. Mike Bittle was very nice: he handed out his business cards that could be turned in at the bar for drinks. I thought that was a clever way to ensure that people remembered him. I also met Henrik de Gyor. He was nice and easy to talk to; I can see why he’s a good interviewer. I was really excited about meeting him. I’ve been listening to his podcast and reading his blog for months now. I also bumped into a recruiter, which was a pleasant surprise.

I worked on Thursday and Friday, helping Mary and the staff where I could. I was the timer for the Pecha Kucha talks. That said, I still had plenty of time to network and attend some of the panels. I was able to join in for the table topics lunch and the to have lunch during the DAMMY awards. I will admit that many of the panels were a bit over my head and there wasn’t much I could contribute, having limited experience with DAMs. But I was like a sponge: I learned so much during the conference. I now know what I have to learn next. Which is what I needed to know. I met so many wonderful people who I hope I can continue to network with.

Also, I won the Another Dam Blog book contest! I’m a proud owner of “The Information and Knowledge Professional’s Career Handbook” by Jill Hurst-Wahl and Ulla de Stricker. I’m so happy I won it and I’ll put my other readings on hold to read it first.

Leave a comment

Filed under Createasphere, DAM

Leave a Reply

