Digital Preservation for Video Workshop

I attended a video preservation workshop on Monday, June 6, 2011, hosted by METRO NYC, sponsored by IMAP, and presented by Linda Tadic. I’m really happy I was able to go; there was so much to learn.

I will admit some of the more technical stuff went over my head. Still, I now have a much better idea of what is needed to tackle a video preservation project. It’s a start.

I found the information on JPEG2000 really interesting. It seems like that’s what will be the codec archivists will use in the near future. Right now there seems so be issue in creating and playing back the content. But she mentioned a link that can transcode between JPEG2000 and other formats.

(http://www.telestream.net/flipfactory/overview.htm)

While yes there is a cost, I think it should be something to look into. I can go into this in more detail in a future post.

LTO tapes seem to be good form of digital storage. I can’t believe I haven’t heard of them before. This is why I go to workshops and conferences. While some may scoff at the notion that you must buy new tapes and hardware every few years it does makes sense for a few reasons.

You should be migrating your data forward anyway. This just forces you to comply with these standards.

Over time, this migration should become cheaper as technology improves.

As I understand it, this sounds a bit like a lease and that is becoming a popular way to get office equipment. Besides, as time goes by and LTO monopolizes the market I’m sure that buyback programs, loyalty discounts, and other promotions will become available.

Lastly, while this can be seen as “job security” for LTO. I can think of no better way to protect against obsolescence.

These are only two topics that peaked my interested. It would take me more time than I currently have to write about the whole workshop. I don’t know if other workshops like this one are planned but if you see them I was recommend attending. If not, try to find ones presented by Linda Tadic. She was very knowledgeable and did a great job explaining the topics. There was a lot of information to go though. I asked quite a bit of questions and she was very patient with answering them.

Hopefully I’ll be able to attend the workshop on processing a video collection in July. I think that will go well with this one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Archives, DAM, Preservation, workshop

Leave a Reply

